Lindale chamber celebrates “Waves of Change’’ at banquet


Larry Wilson, a tireless chronicler of everyday events in Lindale through the lens of his trusty camera, was honored Monday night (April 16) as the Lindale Area Chamber of Commerce’s Citizen of the Year during the LACC’s annual banquet and auction at the Hideaway Lake Clubhouse.

“Waves of Change,’’ reflecting the transformation of the LACC during the past 12 months, which features new membership levels and new initiatives for local businesses, was the theme of the 33rd annual gathering.

Wilson’s work, which has won several awards in the LACC’s photo contest, is also featured in murals in the city.

LACC President and CEO Shelbie Glover had ostensibly asked him to stand in for the banquet’s regular photographer James Cowart.

As Charlene Burton was introducing the award-winner and Wilson was prepping his camera for the photo, family members came to the front of the room to share his award.

“(Wilson) exemplifies the pay it forward attitude that Lindale is so well known for,’’ Burton said. “His work is well known and appreciated around the city.’’

The Lindale Rotary Club honored Nancy McIntyre, a long-time employee of the Lindale Whataburger restaurant, as its “Merchant of the Year.’’ Club President John Pittman presented the award.

LACC Chairman of the Board Jerry Alexander presented the Chairman’s Award to his wife Terri Alexander for her many hours of assistance to him in his first year of service as the group’s chairman.

Lindale ISD Superintendent Stan Surratt presented the district’s Educator of the Year Award to Connie Horton of the Early Childhood Center and Lindale High School Principal Valerie Payne honored Ryleigh Rand and Josh Holland as the school’s top students.

Lindale City Manager Carolyn Caldwell presented the city’s Employee of the Year Award to Joseph DeRozier.

New this year to the banquet’s award list was the winning entries in the Lillie Russell Memorial Library’s Super Readers Video Scholarship Competition.

On hand to present the awards were library benefactor Rusty Braziel and Librarian Carrie Custer.

Elizabeth Morrell won the Elementary Division, Tor Park won the Intermediate Division, Janae Childs won the Junior High Division and Andrew Childs won the High School Division. Morrell and Park won $4,000, Childs won $5,000 and Childs won $8,000.

In his remarks, Alexander addressed the new vision and direction for the LACC in 2018.

“Change can be a difficult thing,’’ he said. “But your chamber is on a mission to be relevant to your business and is committed to promoting your business.’’

The new membership opportunities, Alexander said, allow the chamber to tailor their services to each business.

“These new levels allow us to provide our membership with services based on the business’ individual needs,’’ he said.

“I want to thank all of you for helping make Lindale such a great community,’’ Alexander said. “The Lindale chamber is a big part in making this city such a great place to live.’’




2018 – Larry Wilson

2017—Nina Rodriguez Bryan

2016 -- Jerry Alexander

2015 – Charlene Burton

2014 – Jim Mallory

2013 – Jerry Garner

2012 – Lindale Community Theater

2011 – Debbie Wortmann

2010 – Stan Surratt

2009 – Perry Mac Hutchens

2008 – Annie Baldwin

2007 – Bill Parrott

2006 – Helen Boylan Foundation

2005 – Gen. James “Red’’ Brown

2004 – Drs. Wendall and Donna Hand

2003 – John Becker

2002 – James Cowart

2001 – Dennis Taylor

2000 – Ed Neely

1999 – Bobby McClenny

1998 – Carolyn Todd

1997 – Barham Fulmer

1996 – Carroll Anderson

1995 – Pat Rogers

1994 – Herchal Duncan

1993 – Mary Ann McClenny

1992 – Clifford Bartley

1991 – Earl Baldwin

1990 – Eugene McClenny

1989 – Dr. Joe Roach

1988 – Dr. E.C. Kinzie

1987 – Jack Crook




2018 – Nancy McIntyre

2017 – Octavio De La Cruz

2016 -- James Simmons

2015 – Medder’s Brake and Alignment

2014 – Eagle Pharmacy

2013 – Dr. Karen Gott

2012 -- Dale Kile, Medicine Chest Pharmacy

2011 –Zackie Gutzke

2010 – Carla Boyette

2009 – John Pittman

2008 – Amanda Froebe

2007 – Don Hines

2006 – Moe Snoubar

2005 – Debbie Wortmann

2004 – John Roberts

2003 – Delores Goodman

2002 – Scott Cassel

2001 – Polly Smith

2000 – Glenda Dintelman

1999 – Ruth Voyles

1998 – C. James Rutledge

1997 – Jim Withrow

1996 – Jean Compton

1995 – Larry Camp

1994 – Mark Hatfield

1993 – Wilbur Terry

1992 – Jerry Fleming

1991 – Perry Mac Hutchens


Special Sections