Rotary Club accepting nominations for Lindale’s Merchant of the Year


Officials with the Lindale Rotary Club have announced they are accepting nominations for the club’s annual Merchant of the Year Award, which will be presented at the Lindale Area Chamber of Commerce Awards and Installation Banquet scheduled for April 16 at Hideaway Lake Clubhouse.

Deadline for the nominations is Feb. 26, 2018 and can be mailed to Merchant of the Year, c/o Carroll Anderson, P.O. Box 1494, Lindale, 75771.

Nominations can also be hand delivered to Anderson at the main branch of Texas Bank and Trust located at the intersection of Highway 69 and Highway 16 in downtown Lindale.

The Rotary award has been presented each year since 1991 to a Lindale area merchant who exemplifies the tenets of the Rotary Club’s “Four Way Test.’’

Nominees must have exhibited “the high ethical standards’’ called for in the “test’’: Is it the truth, is it fair to all concerned, will it build good will and better friendships and will it be beneficial to all concerned?’’

Also, while some of the previous winners have been business owners it is not necessary to own a business to qualify.

Nominations should be in writing and explain why the individual is being nominated and how that individual practices the principles of the Four Way Test.

Nominees need not be Rotarians.

Past Merchant of the Year winners include:

2017 – Octavio De La Cruz

2016 – James Simmons

2015 – Rick Medder

2014 – John Droblyn

2013 – Dr. Karen Gott

2012 -- Dale Kile

2011 –Zackie Gutzke

2010 – Carla Boyette

2009 – John Pittman

2008 – Amanda Froebe

2007 – Don Hines

2006 – Moe Snoubar

2005 – Debbie Wortmann

2004 – John Roberts

2003 – Delores Goodman

2002 – Scott Cassel

2001 – Polly Smith

2000 – Glenda Dintelman

1999 – Ruth Voyles

1998 – C. James Rutledge

1997 – Jim Withrow

1996 – Jean Compton

1995 – Larry Camp

1994 – Mark Hatfield

1993 – Wilbur Terry

1992 – Jerry Fleming

1991 – Perry Mac Hutchens


Special Sections