Swearing in ceremonies held for city, school elected officials


Three Lindale city council members and three Lindale ISD Board of Trustee members were sworn in this past week to their new terms to their respective boards.

Mayor Jeff Daugherty, Place 2 Councilman Clyde Harper and Place 3 Councilwoman Ginger Sims recited their oaths which were given by City Secretary Michelle Phillips during the regularly scheduled city council meeting on Tuesday, May 15 in city hall.

Precinct 5 Justice of the Peace James Cowart issued oaths of office to new LISD Board President Mike Combs as well as returning board members Brooks Beeler and Donny Williams.

All three of the trustees, as well as the city council members, ran unopposed this past year.

Also during the school board meeting, Robert McGee was elected vice president and Williams was elected board secretary.

“Lindale is very fortunate to have these men serve as our Board of Trustees,” said Stan Surratt, Lindale ISD Superintendent. “All of these men have experience serving on boards and have spent a great amount of time volunteering and serving their community. They all have a passion and desire to help make Lindale ISD the best school system in East Texas.”

Lindale ISD’s regular school board meetings are held on the second Monday of each month, while city council meetings are held the first and third Tuesday of each month.


Special Sections